The Music Studio community forum has moved!
This forum is in read-only mode. Please visit the new Music Studio community forum.


Start playing sessions with a footswitch

Get help from other users.

Start playing sessions with a footswitch

Postby jeanba » Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:32 pm

I would like to know how to set up a footswitch to start playback sessions. I have a Control Hub Alesis and is recognized by the application as Core Midi.
jeanba
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:24 pm

Re: Start playing sessions with a footswitch

Postby Alex » Tue Nov 01, 2016 6:28 pm

If your foot switch sends MMC (MIDI start/stop) messages, Music Studio will automatically start/stop playback. In particular, the hex MIDI messages Music Studio responds to are 0xFA (start), 0xFB (continue), and 0xFC (stop).
Image Image
Alex
 
Posts: 2125
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Start playing sessions with a footswitch

Postby jeanba » Tue Nov 08, 2016 3:18 pm

Thank for your reply.
My footswitch is a Boss FS-5U, it sends MMC but nothing happened.
What can I do ?
jeanba
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:24 pm

Re: Start playing sessions with a footswitch

Postby Alex » Wed Nov 09, 2016 12:08 am

Are you absolutely sure that the Alesis Control Hub forwards MMC signals from the footswitch port to the iOS device? Can you test it with another app, so that we can rule out any other causes?
Image Image
Alex
 
Posts: 2125
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Start playing sessions with a footswitch

Postby jeanba » Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:08 pm

Ok, so I change for Alesis IO Dock II, can you tell me how to parametter start/stop with footswitch on the app ?
jeanba
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:24 pm

Re: Start playing sessions with a footswitch

Postby Alex » Sun Dec 18, 2016 9:56 am

I don't have an IO Dock 2, but from what I just read on the Alesis website, the footswitch port sends MIDI start/stop (250 and 252, these are the ones that Music Studio responds to):
http://www.alesis.com/kb/article/1567#footswitch

However, I don't know if the IO Dock 2 always sends the start/stop events or if it has to be configured first.
Image Image
Alex
 
Posts: 2125
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Austria


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron