Page 1 of 1

Pitch Bend & Effects

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:20 am
by dynamata
Is it possible to apply pitch bend & vibrato to notes after they have been input? Also is it possible to assign different effects to different instruments? ie: Guitar >> Overdrive, Drums >> Reverb etc. :roll:

Re: Pitch Bend & Effects

PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 9:03 am
by Alex
Yes and yes.

apply pitch bend & vibrato to notes after they have been input?

There's no vibrato effect. For pitch-bend, go to Effects -> Pitch, select the Overwrite recording mode, then go to the Keyboard tab and tap the record button. The pitch bend you input via the accelerometer now overwrites the pitch bend of the existing (played back) notes.
http://www.xewton.com/musicstudio/doc/?id=8#Pitch_bend_record_mode

assign different effects to different instruments?

In a limited manner. Effects apply to all tracks by default, but it is possible to move a number of effects to a second FX bus which applies only to FX track. Here's the bus structure in detail:
http://www.xewton.com/musicstudio/doc/?id=8#Bus_structure
http://www.xewton.com/musicstudio/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=28#p97

Re: Pitch Bend & Effects

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:52 am
by dynamata
Pitch bend & vibrato is needed to get a convincing lead guitar sound, I can simulate vibrato using rapidly alternating pitch bend, record mode pitch bend is hit or miss & takes too much time to get right for a complete guitar solo. Hopefully future updates will allow pitch bend to be applied to individual notes in edit mode.

Couldn't get the FX bus to work as described, I selected "Limit to FX tracks" in Overdrive & enabled FX bus on the lead guitar track, I disabled FX bus on the Reverb but still got Reverb on the lead guitar. I still can't find a way to have Reverb on drums & rhythm guitar with Overdrive on lead guitar with no Reverb, why no ability to pull up effects in each track & seletct the required one?

Re: Pitch Bend & Effects

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:27 am
by Alex
A pitch-bend editor is on our list of updates, but it's far away since there are more important features to implement like audio tracks.

Effects that don't have the FX checkbox on act on all tracks. It is not possible to have just one effect on track 1 and just one other effect on track 2. What you can do is have x effects on track 1 and x+y effects on track 2 (or any number of tracks of course). Read this post regarding arbitrary effects for each track:
http://www.xewton.com/musicstudio/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=8&p=15#p15