The Music Studio community forum has moved!
This forum is in read-only mode. Please visit the new Music Studio community forum.

newbie both ms and midi

Get help from other users.

newbie both ms and midi

Postby markmd » Sun Feb 18, 2018 12:28 am

I am brand new to iPad and Music Studio. I am a musician but new to all this. What do you recommend as best learning tool for MS besides "messing around"? manual ? tutorials?
Also I'd like to shortcut right to being able to turn "all tracks" on/off using iRig blueboard? How do I set up MS to receive this simple command through bluetooth? (I plan to start with drum/bass as jam tracks for guitar first, then the good stuff later!)
thanks in advance for your help. this app looks great!
Mark
markmd

Re: newbie both ms and midi

Postby Bianca » Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:51 am

The iRig blueboard doesn’t send transport controls so you won’t be able to use it to start and stop music studio.

This is a limitation oft lamented on the ik multimedia forums.
Bianca

Postby Alex » Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:12 pm

Hi Mark!

What do you recommend as best learning tool for MS besides "messing around"? manual ? tutorials?

Our demo videos are not brand new but they are still valid:
https://www.youtube.com/user/Xewton/videos

Also I'd like to shortcut right to being able to turn "all tracks" on/off using iRig blueboard?

It's not possible yet to map arbitrary MIDI CC commands (from the iRig blueboard) to functions in Music Studio (e.g. mute track). But that's listed as "Custom MIDI CC assignments" at viewtopic.php?f=12&t=2409
Image Image
Alex

Postby markmd » Fri Feb 23, 2018 4:37 pm

Thanks to all of you for responding. I am using an Alesis IoDock II as part of my setup. It includes a footswitch input. Is it possible to "tell" Music Studio to stop or start using an on/off footswitch? This seems like such a simple and universally needed command and as an avowed newbie, I am surprised it is so difficult to employ.